Persistence: Staying in Contact

I was talking to a friend yesterday who had read the post ‘Persistence: Keep Walking’.  She was clearly feeling guilty that she hadn’t been doing enough with her writing project.  Firstly, it’s a reminder to me that though this blog is intended as an attempt to work out for myself how to write fiction, it might be read as a series of ‘shoulds’.  Plus, there’s always the temptation on my part to get carried away and that start writing as if it is.

But it did get me thinking.  When we talk about persistence in writing, do we necessarily mean writing?  (Blimey, I sound like Carrie Bradshaw).  Giuseppe di Lampedusa, author of The Leopard, regarded as one of the best novels of the 20c, is said to have spent many years thinking about it before he ever started writing.

And do I write every day?  No.  At the moment I’m working on the synopsis to my third novel, having got two-thirds of the way through.  This means writing very little, but thinking a lot.

At the novel writing course that I attended at City University they talked about ‘staying in contact’ with your novel.  And perhaps this is a better way to put it.  In any way, have your mind on it.  I think that writing is a concrete way to do this, but is not the only way.

4 thoughts on “Persistence: Staying in Contact

  1. This is so true. Especially now that I’m writing it, if I spend just a couple days with my mind on something else, I find myself out of sync with my own book when I come back to writing it. It’s as if once the actual writing process starts, the internal muse demands the spotlight to keep the juices flowing.

  2. Thanks Michael. Just had a quick look at your blog and it looks as if you and I are attempting the same kind of thing. Like minds on different continents.

  3. Enjoying your blog, Paul. Lovely insights into your writing life. By the way, do you tweet? Good way to get your blog posts out there, beyond the email contacts. We’re @writingmatters1 for anyone interested in the City University course you mentioned!

    1. And an excellent course it was too. Highly recommended for those who live in London. I do tweet (@paulgapper), and I’ll follow you. I’m just getting things connected up. Taylor Swift apparently has 30 million followers, I have two.

Leave a Reply

